Skip to main content

Parent & Family Guide Parent & Family Programs

Translate this page: The Google Translate tool serves to assist families; translation may not be 100% accurate.

Whether your student is a first-year or in their last year, a transfer student or an international student, a student-parent, or first-generation, your support will be important in their success at UC San Diego. You, too, will benefit from being informed as a family member of an incoming or continuing student. The Parent & Family Guide is a way to learn or get reacquainted with the university's resources. Start here to get ready for the academic year and to connect to the resource that will answer your questions. Contact Parent & Family Programs to help find what you are looking for.

Checklist

Health and Safety

  • Decide if your student will be covered by the UC SHIP health insurance or stay on the family insurance.

  • Register for Triton Alert to receive emergency notifications from Campus Police.

Financial and Billing

Communication and Involvement

Campus Contacts

Calendar

While all students take classes during the fall, winter, and spring quarters, some students opt in to take classes in the summer. The Academic Calendar is subject to revision.

Visit the Triton Transitions Calendar for more information on campus events, deadlines, and traditions. Calendar is subject to revision.

Fall Quarter 2020

September 25, Friday
Deadline for tuition and registration fee payment.
September 30, Wednesday
Deadline to waive mandatory UC SHIP health insurance.
October 1, Thursday
First day of classes
October 23–25, Friday–Sunday
Homecoming Weekend
November 11, Wednesday
Veterans Day (No Classes/Offices Closed)
November 26–27, Thursday–Friday
Thanksgiving Holiday (University Closed)
December 11, Friday
Last day of classes
December 12–19, Saturday–Saturday
Finals Week
December 18, Friday
Deadline for tuition and registration fee payment.
December 20, Saturday
Deadline to waive mandatory UC SHIP health insurance and residence halls close for winter break.

Winter Quarter 2021

December 24–25, 2020, Thursday–Friday
Christmas Holiday (University Closed)
December 31, 2020–January 1, 2021, Thursday–Friday
New Year’s Holiday (University Closed)
January 3, Saturday
Residence halls open for winter quarter.
January 4, Monday
First day of classes
January 18, Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (No Classes/Offices Closed)
January 30, Saturday
Siblings Day
February 15, Monday
Presidents' Day (No Classes/Offices Closed)
March 5, Friday
Deadline to waive mandatory UC SHIP health insurance.
March 12, Friday
Last day of classes
March 13–20, Saturday–Saturday
Finals Week
March 19, Friday
Deadline for tuition and registration fee payment.

Spring Quarter 2021

March 23–27, Monday–Friday
Spring Break (Residence halls and apartments remain open)
March 26, Friday
César E. Chávez Day Observed (No Classes/Offices Closed)
March 29, Monday
First day of classes
May 31, Monday
Memorial Day Observed (No Classes/Offices Closed)
June 4, Friday
Last day of classes
June 5–11, Saturday–Friday
Finals Week
June 12, Saturday
Apartments and residence halls close at 6 p.m. for the summer
June 12–13, Saturday–Sunday
Commencement Ceremonies

Summer Quarter 2021

June 8, Monday
First day of summer session I classes
July 5, Monday
Independence Day Observed (No classes/Offices Closed)
July 30, Friday
Last day of summer session I classes
July 30-July 31, Friday-Saturday
Finals week
August 2, Monday
First day of summer session II classes
September 3, Friday
Last day of summer session II classes
September 3-4, Friday-Saturday
Finals week
September 6, Monday
Labor Day (Offices Closed)
Frequently Asked Questions

Parent and Family Top Questions

Got questions? Use this resource to find answers to all your frequently asked questions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Parents' Helpline: (858) 534-7273 | parents@ucsd.edu